No Indian player in ICC’s Most Valuable Team of the tournament, Babar Azam to lead

Dubai, 15/11: Babar Azam has been made the captain of the ICC T20 World Cup team. No cricketer of Team India is included in this, while players from Sri Lanka and South Africa have also got a place in the 12-member team. The Indian team could not progress beyond the Super-12 round of the tournament (T20 World Cup 2021). He had to face defeat from Pakistan and New Zealand. After this he defeated Afghanistan, Scotland and Namibia. Mitchell Marsh of Australia, who played an unbeaten 77 in the final, has also not got a place in the team.



The jury members did not give place to any Indian player in the team. South African batsman Aiden Markram, fast bowler Enrich Norkia, besides Sri Lankan batsman Charit Aslanka, leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga have got a place in it. Both these teams could not even make it to the semi-finals. Players from champion Australia and runner-up New Zealand have also been selected in the team. Talking about Australia, opener and player of the tournament David Warner, leg-spinner Adam Zampa and fast bowler Josh Hazlewood have got a place in the team.

Apart from England opener Jos Buttler and all-rounder Moeen Ali, fast bowler Trent Boult from New Zealand has also made it to the team. Wanindu Hasaranga is the highest wicket-taker in the tournament while Babar Bazam has scored the most runs. Former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, a member of the jury, said, ‘Like the selection of every team, this team will also be discussed. The panel respects such discussions. It was extremely difficult to select a team from such a competitive tournament. The main basis of selection was the matches from Super-12 to the final. Australia has won the tournament title for the first time.

David Warner (Australia), Jos Buttler (England), Babar Azam (Captain, Pakistan), Charit Aslanka (Sri Lanka), Aiden Markram (South Africa), Moeen Ali (England), Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka), Adam Zampa (Australia) , Josh Hazlewood (Australia), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Anrich Nortje (South Africa). 12th player – Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan).

Comments are closed.