Akhilesh fields non-Muslims from Muslim-dominated seats to prevent polarisation

UP, 25/1: As the BJP attempts to rake up the alleged “exodus” of Hindu families from Kairana in Shamli district to ‘polarise’ the forthcoming assembly polls along religious lines and thwart the Samajwadi Party (SP)-Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) alliance strategy to unite ‘Jats’ and Muslims in the western and central region, SP president Akhilesh Yadav has, in a strategic move, fielded non-Muslim candidates from several Muslim-dominated seats in the region.



The SP, which has so far declared 180 candidates for the forthcoming assembly polls, has fielded 36 Muslim candidates while the BSP, which has declared 104 candidates so far, has fielded 37 Muslims from the same region. In the previous 2017 assembly polls, as many as 50 Muslims figured in the SP list of 180 candidates from the same region.


The SP list caught many by surprise as the party chose to field non-Muslim nominees on seats like Charthawal, Meerapur, Agra South, Bulandshshar, Badhapur, Bijnore, Loni, Pilibhit and some others where Muslims formed the biggest electoral bloc.

Comments are closed.