Nobel Prize in Physics 2021 Winners: Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann, and Giorgio Parisi

Sweden, 5/10: Three scientists from Japan, Germany and Italy have been selected for this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics. Syoukuro Manabe (90) and Klaus Hasselmann (89) have been selected for their work in the fields of ‘physical ‘modeling’ of the Earth’s climate, measurement of variability and accuracy of forecasts of global warming. Georgio Parisi (73) has been selected for the second part of the award. He has been chosen for his ‘discovery of the interaction of disorder and fluctuation in physical systems from atomic to planetary parameters’.



The jury said Manabe and Hasselman “laid the foundation for our knowledge of the Earth’s climate and the impact of humans on it”. Manabe had shown in the early 1960s how global temperatures would increase due to the increase in the amount of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, and thus laid the foundation for existing climate models.

Comments are closed.