12 opposition members of RajyaSabha suspended for remaining part of winter session

New Delhi, 29/11:The Rajya Sabha on Monday, the first day of its winter session, suspended 12 of its members, including Shiv Sena MP Priyanka Chaturvedi and Trinamool MP Dola Sen, for the remaining days of the current session. This action has been taken against them on charges of indiscipline in the monsoon session of the House.

Apart from Priyanka Chaturvedi and Dola Sen, the MPs who were suspended on Monday include Elaram Karim (CPM), Phulo Devi Netam of Congress, Chhaya Verma, R Bora, Rajamani Patel, Syed Nasir Hussain, Akhilesh Prasad Singh, Binoy Vishwam of CPI, TMC’s Shanta Chhetri and Shiv Sena’s Anil Desai are involved.

Priyanka Chaturvedi said, our side was not heard in the house
MP Priyanka Chaturvedi was very angry about the suspension from the Rajya Sabha and said that she was not given a chance to present her side in the House. The Shiv Sena MP said, “From the district court to the Supreme Court, an accused is heard there, lawyers are also provided for him, sometimes government officials are sent to take his side. We have not been favored here.”

What Congress MP Chhaya Verma said
Congress Rajya Sabha MP Chhaya Verma has also termed the suspension as unfair. He said, “This suspension is simply unfair and unjust. Other members of other parties were also involved in the uproar, but the Speaker suspended me. PM Modi is doing what he wants because he has a huge majority.”

Comments are closed.