Nineteen Opposition MPs suspended for ruckus in Rajya Sabha

New Delhi, 26/7: Nineteen opposition MPs, including seven from the TMC and six from the DMK, were suspended on Tuesday from attending the sitting of the Rajya Sabha for the entire week for disrupting the House proceedings.

The opposition MPs, who have been stalling the proceedings since the start of the Monsoon session on July 18 over price rise and the levy of the GST on daily essentials, were suspended as they did not heed to Deputy Chairman Harvansh’s repeated pleas to leave the Well of the House and go back to their seats.


Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs V Muraleedharan moved a motion to suspend 10 MPs, but when it was adopted by a voice vote, Harivansh read out the names of 19 members who have been suspended for the rest of the week.


Comments are closed.