Mamata Banerjee  to contest from Bhawanipur seat

Kolkatta, 21/5 (AO Bureau): Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee  of the state can now contest from Bhawanipur assembly seat after losing from Nandigram seat to BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari in the West Bengal Assembly Elections. It is reported that MLA Shobhan Dev Chatterjee has resigned to contest elections from Bhawanipur assembly seat. Let me tell you that Bhawanipur has been the traditional seat of Mamata Banerjee earlier. According to the rules, within six months, Mamta Banerjee will have to win the election from any place and become a member of the assembly.

Before resigning, Shobhan Dev said that the Chief Minister has to win from any assembly seat within six months. I stood on his seat and won. I am leaving the post of MLA so that he can win the elections in a fair manner and remain the Chief Minister. Mamta Banerjee’s victory is for all of us.
Earlier in 2011, Subrata Bakshi resigned from Bhawanipur constituency after winning the election on a Trinamool ticket. Later, Mamta Banerjee won the by-election held here. After that, he won here in 2016 too. However, this time Mamata contested Nandigram election and from there she had to face defeat.

Comments are closed.