10 teams in IPL from next year, BCCI bows before ICC for big window of league

New Delhi, 13/6 (AO Bureau):The BCCI has approved the organization of one ICC event every year. This decision of the board is in complete contrast to the statement of Board President Sourav Ganguly given two years ago. According to the information, BCCI has accepted ICC’s request to get a longer window for the T20 league IPL. From next year, 10 teams will enter the league instead of 8. In such a situation, more time will be needed for the event.
After the meeting on 1 June, the ICC announced the Future Tour Program (FTP) between 2023 and 2031. According to this, an ICC event will be organized every year. According to the report of Cricbuzz, apart from the BCCI opposing this program of the ICC, the England and Wales Cricket Board and Cricket Australia have also agreed to this. In 2019, when the ICC had talked about holding an event every year, Sourav Ganguly had said that FIFA organizes events every four years, so we should avoid such madness. ICC has to take a decision on this, I will keep my point in the meeting.
15 to 20 extra days will be needed
Currently 8 teams are playing in IPL. 60 matches are going in 52-54 days. But from next season the number of teams will increase to 10. In such a situation, the number of matches can be 76 or 94. If the league takes place according to the current rules, then there will be a total of 94 matches. If the teams are divided into two groups, then there will be 76 matches. For this BCCI will need 15 to 20 extra days. In such a situation, the availability of foreign players would have been a big challenge. Due to this an agreement has been reached between BCCI and ICC. The broadcaster has also expressed happiness over the agreement reached between the ICC and the BCCI. The current season of IPL was postponed on 4 May after Corona. The remaining 31 matches will be held in the UAE in September-October.
ICC to organize Champions Trophy again
According to the new ICC calendar, there will be 14 teams in the ODI World Cup in 2027 and 2031 and there will be a total of 54. Like 2003, the format of Super-6 will be there. There will be 7-7 teams in two groups. Top-3 team from each group will go to Super-6. Then the semi-finals and finals. Apart from this, 20 teams will participate in the Men’s T20 World Cup to be held in 2024, 2026, 2028 and 2030 and 55 matches will be played. There will be 5-5 teams in four groups in the T20 World Cup. Top-2 of each group will go to Group-8. This will be followed by the semi-finals and the final. Champions Trophy matches will be held in 2025 and 2029.

Comments are closed.