Droupadi Murmu took oath as President of India

New Delhi, 25/7: Droupadi Murmu on Monday took oath as the 15th President of India at 10:15am at a ceremony in Parliament’s Central Hall in New Delhi on Monday. The former Jharkhand governor, who represented the BJP-led ruling NDA in the July 18 presidential polls, defeated joint opposition’s candidate, ex-Union minister Yashwant Sinha, securing 64% of the total valid votes. The counting of votes was held on July 21.


Murmu, who is the first tribal and second woman to hold the country’s highest constitutional office, was administered oath of office by Chief Justice of India NV Ramanna. She succeeds Ram Nath Kovind, whose five-year-term ended on Sunday

Comments are closed.