Bhubaneswar, April 1: The 89 th Utkal Divas, commemorating the creation of
a separate Odisha state on linguistic basis on April 1, 1936, was observed at Siksha
‘O’ Anusandhan Deemed to be University (SOA) on Monday.
Led by the Vice-Chancellor Prof. Pradipta Kumar Nanda, Deans of different
institutes, faculty, senior officials and staff members paid floral tributes to the
memory of Utkal Gaurab Madhusudan Das, Utkalmani Gopabandhu Das,
Maharaja Krushna Chandra Gajapati Narayan Deo, Vyasakavi Fakir Mohan
Senapati, poet Gangdhar Meher and Dr. Harekrushna Mahtab, who were the
architects of Odisha becoming a separate state.
Recalling the contribution of these leaders, Prof. Nanda said it was the
responsibility of all to strive to make Odisha a developed state by 2036.
Speaking at a discussion on the state’s progress, Prof. Nanda said scores of
Odias had made huge contribution in various fields including art and culture,
literature, science and technology, industry, education and sport over the
Among others, Prof. Sitikantha Mishra, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Prof. Manjula
Das, Controller of Examination, Prof. Manas Kumar Mallick, Director, Institute of
Technical Education and Research, Prof. Santosh Kumar Rout, Dean, Institute of
Agricultural Sciences, Prof. Brahmadev Pattnaik, Dean, Institute of Veterinary
Sciences and Animal Husbandry, Prof. Susant Kumar Chaini, Dean, School of Hotel
Management, Prof. Jyoti Ranjan Das, Dean (Students’ Welfare), Prof. Debajyoti
Das, Additional Dean, School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Prof. Renu Sharma,
Additional Dean (Student Affairs), ITER, Mr. Sanjay Kumar Sahu, Director, Legal
Affairs, Mr. Sashank Choudhury, HR Officer and Dr. Madhubrata Mohanty, Joint
Registrar, shared their views.
It was decided that Odia essay and debate competitions would be held
prior to ‘Utkal Divas’ from next year to make the language popular among the
students of the university.

Comments are closed.