Mamata to take oath on May 5 as CM of Bengal

Kolkatta, 3/5 (AO Bureau): Trinamool supremo Mamta Banerjee will take oath as the Chief Minister of the state for the third time on 5 May. On Monday, senior party leader Partha Chatterjee informed about this. In the counting of votes held on Sunday, the Trinamool Congress returned to power in the state by winning more than 200 seats. At the same time, the BJP, which claimed to win more than 200 seats before the election, had to be satisfied with only 76 seats.

In the TMC Legislature Party meeting held today, Mamata Banerjee was unanimously elected as the leader. Mamta Banerjee will take oath on 5 May but other cabinet members may take oath on 6 May. Let me tell you that in the election battle of West Bengal, the TMC supremo may have defeated the BJP but Mamata Banerjee had to face defeat in the Nandigram seat. According to the data available on the Election Commission website, Shubhendu Adhikari of BJP defeated Mamta Banerjee by 1956 votes. The officer got a total of 1,107,64 votes, while Mamta Banerjee got 1,08,808 votes.

The officer wrote, ‘Thank you to the people of Nandigram for providing love, trust, blessings and support and choosing me as their representative. I promise to serve them and continue to work for their welfare. I am grateful to you.

Apart from BJP, this alliance has flopped badly when it comes to the other two big parties Congress and CPM. Till the first of 2011, only these two parties ruled the state, but now both have been completely uprooted from the ground. Although the BJP failed to form a government, the 76 seats have created a new option in the politics of the state.

Comments are closed.